Standard

Nah, the Friday Five will take too long this week… :p

And I would have End of the Work Week Wisdom, except we can’t remember the line exactly right… and it’s not on IMDB… ah well…

Have I ever mentioned that I tend to like goth covers of songs that I like… well, usually at least…

Then again, there are some covers I can’t stand… T.A.T.U. doing “How Soon is Now,” (The Smiths) and Evanescence doing “Heart Shaped Box” (Nirvana) come to mind… ooh, and Tori Amos doing “Lovesong” (The Cure)… that one pissed me off bad… there are just some songs that you don’t need to cover… and there are some songs that certain bands don’t need to cover…

Let’s take T.A.T.U. for example… I’m not inherently opposed to people covering “How Soon is Now”… after all, I’m pretty sure it was a cover that they used for the theme song for “Charmed,” and I recall liking the Snake River Conspiracy cover… but T.A.T.U.?! First off, they said they had never ever heard the song till their manager told them it would be a good song to cover… second, I don’t think they get it… the lyrics are “I am the son and the heir”… last time I checked, cute little Russian girls weren’t anyone’s son… and third… ick… it just sounds so bad… it made me want to hurt someone… and I doubt that’s what they were going for…

Then Evanescence… okay, I actually like some of their stuff, though it gets overplayed… but Nirvana is one of those bands that people shouldn’t cover their stuff (come to think of it, I don’t like Tori Amos’s cover of “Smells Like Teen Spirit” either)… and “Heart Shaped Box” is one of my favorite Nirvana songs, too… it just sounds sooooo wrong for Amy Lee to sing it…

And then Tori Amos… when it comes down to it, I think the only covers that she’s done that I really liked were “Daniel” (Elton John) and “A Little Help from My Friends” (Beatles)… I think it’s because she stayed fairly true to the tempo and mood of the song… whereas she makes “Lovesong” and “Smells Like Teen Spirit” unnecessarily depressing… yes, “Lovesong” is already pretty depressing… but there is a point where it gets TOO depressing, and Tori crosses that…

Of course, I’m writing this as I listen to Girls Under Glass’s cover of “Frozen” (Madonna), and Tricky’s cover of “The Love Cats” (The Cure)… I like these two… it’s just something about the way they’re done…

Wow, that was sorta long and ranty… 🙂

Leave a Reply

