Standard

We went and saw “Big Fish” on Sunday night, and I was very pleased with it. It’s not quite your average Tim Burton movie, but you can still tell he was involved (and that his old buddy Danny Elfman was as well).

I think my favorite part of the movie was the final voice-over by the son (Billy Crudup) talking about his father. I know I don’t remember the quote exactly, but it was talking about how a man lives through his stories, and when his stories are told after he has died, that’s how he achieves immortality.

I really liked that idea, because although it applies to storytelling on a grander scale, I’d like to think it also applies to storytelling on a gaming scale as well (especially as White Wolf uses the term “Storyteller” as opposed to “game master”). Gamers are notorious for “war stories” (a.k.a. stories of past games), and in a way, those stories are really a tribute to the storyteller and the story that he or she created with the help of his or her players… 🙂

So here’s to a bunch more “war stories” emerging from my current game… which, BTW, is going well so far! 🙂

Leave a Reply

