Standard

Oh, music day… and what a day it will be, too… 🙂

First off, I was asked my opinion of Korn’s cover of “Another Brick in the Wall” on Saturday night. Well… yeah. I rather like Pink Floyd, but I also have a tendency to like covers of their songs. For example, Catherine Wheel does a great cover of “Wish You Were Here.”

But this Korn cover, I dunno. Something about it bothers me. The core of the song itself is fine, but the beginning and the end are just sort of off. It might be that there are lyrics that I hadn’t heard before, that Korn includes, or maybe they just made those up. Either way, it’s weird.

So we’ll just put Korn in the category of weird, with a possible need to be kicked at a later date… I did hear that they’re planning to do a cover of “Love My Way” by the Psychedelic Furs, so that should be interesting… 🙂

::..::

And now, to the other ranting. I picked up two new CDs at Hot Topic last night. One is “Metropolis 2004,” which is the 4th of these that I’ve bought. Nothing to rant about there, though I haven’t heard all of it just yet.

The other is called “Psycho Tina’s Hell House of Horror,” and features a cute little cartoon girl on the front. Guess that must be Psycho Tina. I dunno, I’ve never heard of her.

Anyway, this CD has a LOT of covers… so let’s begin, shall we?

1. “Fade to Black” (Metallica) by Apoptygma Berzerk. Yeah, I’ve actually had this one for a while. *sigh*… not like I’m a huge Metallica fan, but this is just wrong. Granted, it’s super catchy, and bouncy, and danceable… but that’s NOT what Metallica should be… but as APB does one of my favorite songs ever (“Until the End of the World”), they’ll just be in the “needs to be kicked” category…

2. “Bela Lugosi’s Dead” (Bauhaus) by Godhead. I think I had heard this one before… bet it was the one on Slaghuis that I freaked out about because it’s like 3 minutes long. The original is more like 8. Anyway… yeah… how about we not cover Bauhaus? That seems like a very good plan to me. It could be worse, I suppose, but it’s not good. I don’t know anything else by Godhead, so they’ll get a nice swift kick, just in case they’re really kewl… 🙂

(And now, for an aside… is it just me, or do the lead singers of Pitbull Daycare and Zeromancer sound exactly the same? Need to look into that, I think…)

3. “Ballroom Blitz” by Sweet vs. The Mission UK. This isn’t exactly a cover, actually. It’s more like a remix… sorta. It’s still the original vocals, and most of the original music, actually. So I won’t complain too much. That, and I really like Mission UK… 🙂

4. “Girls and Boys” (Blur) by Fear Cult. Oh. My. God. I saw that title on the back of the CD, and went “nah, couldn’t be.” Then I’m sitting in the living room, wrapping presents, and wondering why that beat sounds so familiar. Oh, it is. I love Blur; I really like everything I’ve heard by Fear Cult so far… this song included… well done, Fear Cult, you get a gold star… 🙂

And that’s about it. Yeah, there are songs other than covers on the CD, including Zeromancer and Switchblade Symphony that I hadn’t heard before. And a band called Effcee that I rather like, thus far… 🙂

Leave a Reply

