Standard

Nope, no new covers to rant about. After talking music with Dennis recently, I’ve made him a mix CD of covers that I do like… I had a little trouble getting enough of them, but I eventually found what I needed… πŸ™‚

So yeah, instead of ranting, I’ll just post a sort of year-end review of bands that were new to me in 2004, and why you should check them out… πŸ™‚

Ask Me Later – girly pop punk. It’s sooooo much fun!

Butterfly Messiah – slightly techno (in my opinion), their page calls them more Pop/Electronica. Sure, that works too. πŸ™‚

Celldweller / Circle of Dust – a lot of their stuff sounds the same, or uses a lot of the same elements, but it’s some pretty good, heavy, goth-ish, techno-ish, stuff. “Frozen” is definitely my favorite song by them…

Dreamside – very pretty stuff, kinda ethereal vocals, and the one song I have by them was remixed by The Cruxshadows… what’s not to like? πŸ™‚

Effcee – I only have one song by them at this point, but I MUST find more. I really like it a lot!

Ego Likeness – I really like their lead singer’s voice a lot, and the music goes well with it. Good stuff.

Interpol – I’m sure I had at least vaguely heard of these guys before this year, but hadn’t paid much attention. The lead singer’s voice frequently reminds me of Peter Murphy, and that’s just kewl… πŸ™‚

K.M.F.D.M. – yes, I know I’m WAY behind the curve on this one… but I finally got some K.M.F.D.M. this year, so it’s new to me! πŸ™‚ I have only a small collection, but it’s good stuff thus far… πŸ™‚

L’Ame Immortelle – just starting to get into these folks, but liking it thus far.

My Own Sin – one of the many Florida based bands that I’ve discovered, thanks to Slaghuis. Good stuff, I’m tellin’ ya… πŸ™‚

Placebo – yeah, I had heard of them before this year, but I finally actually got to hear their music this year, and that was very kewl… πŸ™‚

Portishead – again, another band I had heard of, but not listened to very much. And now, I listen to them lots… πŸ™‚

racermason – I think this is the discovery I’m most pleased of at the moment, cuz I just really like their stuff… I want more!

Skintrade – I’ve only heard one song by them, but I like it a lot, and hope to be able to get more! πŸ™‚

And that about covers it. And yeah, the majority of this new music exposure comes from Slaghuis and J, but a few come from my new goth compilations that I’ve bought over the year. All in all, it’s been a good year for new music for me… and that’s kewl… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

