Standard

A whole slew of movies, and most of them of the older variety, this past weekend.

“Nosferatu” (1922) – No, I hadn’t seen this movie before. Oddly enough, in all of my vampire-movie-watching days, I stuck mostly with the newer movies. Poor choice, I’m now realizing, cuz I saw some BAD movies in those days. This, though, was awesome. It was very kewl to see the “original” vampire movie, and it’s neat to see how many later actors and actresses drew upon bits of this movie in their interpretations of the various characters… cuz I don’t care if the names are changed, this is “Dracula”… 🙂

“Dracula” (1931) – This is the Bela Lugosi version… the first real “Dracula” movie… very very odd, but very kewl. I’m not so sure about Bela just standing there and staring at people a lot of the time… but when he first came on the screen, it was incredibly kewl. Because no, I hadn’t seen this one before either.

“Salem’s Lot” (2004) – Yeah, this is the remake version. And oddly enough, I liked it a LOT better than the original. Except for the blue glitter. PH34R the blue glitter exploding vampires… no, really… sooooo scary… 🙂 But seriously, I thought this one really followed the plot of the novel well, and thus I liked it. I also liked all of the voice-overs by Rob Lowe, as they were really poetic.

“High Plains Drifter” (1973) – Yet another one of the westerns that J has picked out for me to watch. And I liked this one, too. In fact, I’m kinda liking westerns all around. This one, in particular, I liked because it’s almost got a little bit of a supernatural twist to it… and that’s just kewl… 🙂

“Night of the Living Dead” (1968) – Okay, fine. I am a heathen, I call myself the ScaryWhiteGirl, and yet I don’t watch horror movies. Well, this weekend pretty much makes up for that, I’d say. And now that I’ve actually seen this movie, I guess it’s okay. I really wasn’t all that impressed by it, honestly. It’s definitely far more about the human condition than it is about zombies, and the acting just didn’t impress me… though I wanted to smack Barbra a LOT!

“House on Haunted Hill” (1959) – Winning the prize for gayest. ending. ever. is the original House on Haunted Hill. I hope they made the ending better in the remake. I really do. But when I was thinking of the remake on Saturday night, it was actually “The Haunting” that I was talking about… not like that matters to anyone. 🙂 Anyways, yeah. Not quite as bad as the World of Suck, but pretty damn bad. I was not impressed… though it did make me jump a few times! 🙂

So yeah, five horror-ish movies in one weekend… more like ScaredWhiteGirl… 😉

Leave a Reply

