Standard

I had a lot of free time this past week, and thus watched a TON of movies… I also had people loaning me movies left and right, so that helped too… 🙂

“The Crow: City of Angels” (a.k.a. The Crow 2) – Having rewatched this movie, and having finally watched the third Crow movie (see below), I have finally discovered what the problem with them is. They aren’t the first movie. Well, duh. But the problem is that “The Crow” is such a good movie that no sequel could even come close to it. That being said, this movie isn’t quite as bad as I originally remembered it being. But that could be because I actually watched the third one the day before I rewatched this one… 🙂

“The Crow: Salvation” (a.k.a. The Crow 3) – Oh man was this a bad movie. Kirsten Dunst was pretty good, but Eric Mabius seemed like he was trying to channel Brandon Lee. There were so many of his facial expressions and moves and line deliveries that made it seem like he just wanted to be as much like Brandon Lee as possible. And that made me sad. Not in the Monaco “and that makes me sad” sort of way, but in a “why did Brandon have to die” sort of way… *sigh*…

“Spice World” – Yes, I watched Spice World. And you know what? I liked it. Yes, this is very wrong. But it was FUN, and funny. My sister owns it, you see, which is completely unsurprising to anyone who knows her. So she let me borrow it, and it amused me greatly. It’s a total fluff movie, with no serious content at all, but it rocked… muchly… 🙂

“A Life Less Ordinary” – Yeah, I’ve seen this one before, of course, but I picked it up for cheap when I was in Paducah last weekend, and finally sat down and watched it the other day. It’s just a cute and fun Ewan McGregor movie… 🙂

“Buffy the Vampire Slayer” – Another movie I picked up for cheap, and one I’ve wanted to get for a while. I’ve always been a big fan of the movie, but never saw the fascination with the show. Something new I discovered this time around: Ben Affleck is in this movie, though he’s not in the credits. He plays one of the basketball players on the other team. If you watch it, you can’t miss him. He’s on screen for long enough for you to go, “hey, that’s Ben Affleck!” 🙂

“Ghost World” – I’ve been wanting to see this one for a while; Gabe had seen it and said it wasn’t all that great. Sadly, I think I have to agree with him. It was just sorta weird and quirky… it was like it was trying to be all artsy, and just kinda wasn’t. It had some funny bits, but mostly it was just there. I’d be interested in reading the comic it’s based on if I could find someone who owned it.

“Confidence” – Now this one was fun… like Dennis had told me, it’s the sort of movie you would like if you liked “The Italian Job,” which I did. I think I liked this one a little bit more. And I dunno what it is, but Edward Burns has a really neat voice. Something between his voice and the cadence of his speech, and I was hooked… now I’m kinda curious to see some more of his stuff. And Rachel Weiss is ALWAYS a hottie… 😉

I think that’s all… aside from watching a bit of “Stargate,” a very tiny bit of “Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead” (that movie is ALWAYS on if you have a sick number of channels), and a bunch of Eddie Izzard, including the French version of “Circle” (funny as hell, especially “Qu’est que c’est fuckin’ dit?”, because Eddie apparently doesn’t know the French word for “fuck”… 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

