Another day of random…

Standard

1) I have a new pirate coat, and could not resist doing a silly pose for this picture of it. (I always do silly poses when I wear steampunk clothes.) This coat is amazing. It’s leather (and I think they must have used the better part of an entire cow to make it), nice and worn to the point where it is soft and comfortable. I found it a couple of weeks ago, but didn’t buy it till last night. As soon as Jerome saw it on me, he told me that I had to buy it. Who am I to argue? šŸ˜‰

I’m planning to replace all 20 buttons with something a bit more Victorian and/or military inspired, though I do want to keep them in the gold/bronze/brass color scheme. I just need to find buttons for much cheaper than you can buy them at JoAnn’s. I do not want to have to spend $20 to get the buttons I need. šŸ˜¦

I’m also plotting on a way to make myself a hat and scarf that will go with this, without detracting too much from the awesome that is this coat. I have had the recommendation to go with a tartan scarf and a red bucket-style hat. I can make the hat, but I can’t crochet plaid. šŸ˜¦ (Gloves will be black stretch gloves or fleece gloves, because I have approximately five pairs of those two styles of gloves already.)

2) Anandi, who I have not met yet (but might tonight) had already captured my attention with her blog, but this post on riding the bus in Seattle is perfection. I know EXACTLY what she is talking about. šŸ™‚ (She also has an Etsy shop, and makes super neat jewelry with excellent names.)

3) Two new CDs last night: another Dropkick Murphys, and H.I.M. Jerome really tried to dissuade me from buying the H.I.M. CD, but I can’t help it! I love Ville Valo’s voice! (He suggested Ministry or Korn as possible alternates. I stuck with H.I.M.) Not much to say on either yet, as I haven’t finished listening to them, other than to say that they sound about the same as they always sound. In both cases, this is a good thing.

(I have a much longer rant in store about why it is perfectly acceptable for some bands to always sound the same, while I expect other bands to continually morph their style. Cuz yes, this is a bit of a paradox.)

Okay, I suppose that’s enough random for today. šŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Another day of random…

  1. Creepy creepy. I’ve been meaning to check out H.I.M. since I read a magazine article about them. So weird that you mentioned it in the same post as my shop!And I *so* appreciate the mention, by the way. Thanks again!

  2. Awesome find! I’m so glad you got it–and if you wear it Saturday, we’ll practically be twins šŸ˜‰I’ve yet to figure out how to replace more than 4 buttons for less than 20 bucks. It doesn’t help when they’re oversize, but they’re so rarely less than 2-4 bucks a piece that I just give up and plunk down the money.

Leave a Reply

