Warm and cozy

Standard

Strawberry-Vanilla Swirl Crocheted Ice Cream Cozy

Strawberry-Vanilla Swirl Crocheted Ice Cream Cozy


I saw a surge in sales in my Etsy shop last week, and when I stopped to look at what was selling, I noticed it was cozies–cozies for mugs, and cozies for ice cream! I think it’s just the right time of year for that sort of thing–people want to curl up with a nice hot cup of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, or cider, or they want to have some ice cream without freezing their hands off.

My ice cream cozies were born out of personal necessity, because wrapping a paper towel or kitchen towel around a pint of ice cream isn’t the most convenient solution. But an ice cream cozy that fits snuggly around the container works great. It helps keep your hand warm, and helps insulate the ice cream as well!

The first coffee cozies I made, designed to fit a take-out cup of coffee, were a request from a friend who hated the waste of those little cardboard sleeves that they put on your coffee cup. So I traced a cardboard sleeve and then crocheted one that was the same size, down to the angle that matches the angle of every size of take-out coffee cup I’ve encountered. No matter what size coffee you like to buy at the coffee shop, these small coffee cozies should fit your take-out cup!

When I started making the mug coffee cozies, it was because I kept taking a sip of my tea, only to discover that the poor climate control in my office had already chilled it to the point where it wasn’t the warm beverage I was hoping for. Though heat still escapes from the top of my mug, the mug coffee cozies help my tea stay warmer for at least a little while. The mug cozies can also fit on a take-out coffee cup, though they’re not as snug as the other ones.

All three of these styles are in my Etsy shop year round, and I’ve even got coffee cozies in both styles with small pockets, where you can store a gift card, a punch card for frequent customers, or a tea bag!

Leave a Reply

